Brain Injury News

New ‘Brain Health Index’ Can Predict How Well Patients Will Do After Stroke

Apr. 19, 2018 — A new computer program can assess whole brain deterioration and help predict cognitive function after stroke up to ten times more accurately than current … read more

Probing the Complex Nature of Concussion

Mar. 30, 2018 — Concussion is a major public health problem, but not much is known about the impacts that cause concussion or how to prevent them. A new study suggests that the problem is more complicated than … read more

Mar. 29, 2018 — A drug that reverses the effects of a cellular stress response restores learning and memory in mice with concussions. Now researchers can see the atomic-scale details of how the drug interacts with … read more

Mar. 27, 2018 — Scientists have found a genetic trigger that may improve the brain’s ability to heal from a range of debilitating conditions, from strokes to concussions and spinal cord … read more

Neural Fingerprints of Altruism

Mar. 26, 2018 — For at least 150 years, we know that traumatic brain injury can change several domains of behavior, impairing social behavior or memory, for instance, depending on which brain areas have been … read more

Mar. 26, 2018 — Researchers have developed an endoscope as thin as a human hair that can image the activity of neurons in the brains of living mice, giving researchers access to areas that cannot be seen with … read more

Drug Reduces Inflammation in Stroke Patients

Mar. 26, 2018 — An anti-inflammatory drug given to patients in the early stages of a stroke has been shown by researchers to reduce harmful inflammation. The drug, Kineret©, licensed for treating rheumatoid … read more

Mar. 19, 2018 — It’s one of the most talked about injuries in sport today, concussion. Yet, there is no accepted way to image a concussion. Scientists hope to change that. They have developed a portable brain … read more

Mar. 15, 2018 — New research shows how the drug QNZ-46 can help to lessen the effects of excess release of glutamate in the brain — the main cause of brain injury in stroke. As stroke is the second leading cause of … read more

Sleep Apnea Study Finds Male-Female Differences in Cerebral Cortex Thickness, Symptoms

Mar. 13, 2018 — Researchers examined clinical records and magnetic resonance imaging brain scans of patients who were recently diagnosed with sleep apnea, and discovered several apparent connections between thinning … read more

Surprise Finding Could Lead to New MS Treatments

Mar. 8, 2018 — A discovery is providing hope of a new therapeutic target in Multiple Sclerosis (MS) patients that could one day be used to prevent the symptoms and progression of the disease. By removing a protein … read more

Recovery from Spinal Cord Injuries Can Be Predicted

Mar. 7, 2018 — Injuries to the spinal cord result in tissue loss in the spinal cord and brain. These neurodegenerative changes can be analyzed in detail using neuroimaging methods. Researchers have now for the … read more

Nervous System Discovery Could Inform Stroke, Pain Therapies

Mar. 7, 2018 — Scientists used advanced imaging techniques to ascertain the resting state of an acid-sensing ion channel. Acid-sensing ion channels are believed to play a role in pain sensation as well as … read more

Mar. 6, 2018 — Researchers recently elucidated the regenerative processes by neural stem cells using a stab injury model in the optic tectum, a less studied area of the brain, of adult zebrafish. This study has … read more

Mar. 5, 2018 — Scientists have developed new technology for long-term stable neural recording. It is based on a novel elastic material composite, which is biocompatible and retains high electrical conductivity even … read more

Mar. 1, 2018 — If the sense of smell disappears, this can indicate a disease such as Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s disease. However, unlike previously assumed, general degenerations in the nervous system do … read more

Mar. 1, 2018 — Concussions and other traumatic brain injuries may increase the risk of developing Alzheimer’s disease earlier in life, according to a new … read more

Can Our Eyes Help Predict Who Will Develop Memory Loss?

Feb. 28, 2018 — People whose eyes show signs of small changes in blood vessels at age 60 may be more likely to develop thinking and memory problems by the time they are 80 than people with healthy eyes, according to … read more

Personalized Stem Cell Treatment May Offer Relief for Multiple Sclerosis

Feb. 22, 2018 — Scientists have shown in mice that skin cells re-programmed into brain stem cells, transplanted into the central nervous system, help reduce inflammation and may be able to help repair damage caused … read more

A Look at the Space Between Mouse Brain Cells

Feb. 22, 2018 — Between the brain’s neurons and glial cells is a critical but understudied structure that’s been called neuroscience’s final frontier: the extracellular space. With a new imaging … read more

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Friday, March 30, 2018

Thursday, March 29, 2018

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Monday, March 26, 2018

Monday, March 19, 2018

Thursday, March 15, 2018

Tuesday, March 13, 2018

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Monday, March 5, 2018

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Saturday, February 17, 2018

Thursday, February 15, 2018

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Thursday, February 8, 2018

Tuesday, February 6, 2018

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Thursday, January 25, 2018

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Monday, January 15, 2018

Friday, January 12, 2018

Thursday, January 4, 2018

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Friday, December 22, 2017

Thursday, December 21, 2017

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Friday, December 1, 2017

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Monday, November 27, 2017

Monday, November 20, 2017

Friday, November 17, 2017

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Monday, November 13, 2017

Monday, November 6, 2017

Thursday, November 2, 2017

Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Monday, October 30, 2017

Wednesday, October 25, 2017

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Monday, October 23, 2017

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Monday, October 9, 2017

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Monday, October 2, 2017

Friday, September 29, 2017

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Leave a reply